U-19 World Cup: Australia elect to bat first in final against India

U-19 World Cup: Australia elect to bat first in final against India

news image

A fair appropriate century by Manjot Kalra, backed up by in a purpose bowling performances by Ishan Porel, Shiva Singh, Ankul Roy and Kamlesh Nagarkoti sealed the deal for the Indian facet in the ICC U-19 World Cup final at the Bay Oval on Saturday.

Even with a snappy rain-extend for the period of the Indian innings, the Rahul Dravid-coached personnel didn’t lose their momentum. P.P. Shaw, Shubman Gill and H.M. Desai, with the steadying force of Kalra on the various end of the wicket, slowly chipped away at the 217 complete the Australians had residing for them.

Shaw fell early to Sutherland in the eleventh over, bowled out. Gill became bowled out by Param Uppal at the twenty first over.

Earlier, Australia, who got off to a lawful begin after skipper Jason Sangha won the toss, became all out for 216 in Forty seven.2 overs. The openers had been dispatched attend to the pavillion barely quick by Ishan Porel and establish for Jonathan Merlo’s solid Seventy six, the Australian facet fell indulge in a apartment of cards. Merlo’s became the final note glean in the facet.

The Indian bowling facet functioned brilliantly, with Porel, Shiva Singh, Roy and Kamlesh Nagarkoti taking two wickets apiece. Singh, who became the most easy bowler to bowl his burly 10 overs, became the most economical, with a dash rate of three.6.

Gill became awarded Man of the Tournament, while Kalra became Man of the Match.


India U-19: Prithvi Shaw (captain), Manjot Kalra, Shubman Gill, Harvik Desai(wk), Riyan Parag, Abhishek Sharma, Anukul Roy, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Shiva Singh, Ishan Porel

Australia U-19: Jack Edwards, Max Bryant, Jason Sangha(captain), Jonathan Merlo, Param Uppal, Nathan McSweeney, Will Sutherland, Baxter J Holt(wk), Zak Evans, Ryan Hadley, Lloyd Pope

(With inputs from IANS)

Read Extra

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Total votes: 0

Upvotes: 0

Upvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Downvotes: 0

Downvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *